Bio

After studying at the École Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs of Strasbourg, and at the Fresnoy-National Studio of Contemporary Arts, Clément Cogitore develops an artistic practice halfway between cinema and contemporary art. Combining film, video, installations and photographs his work questions the modalities of cohabitation of humankind with their images. There is often question of ritual, collective memory, figuration of the sacred as well as a particular idea of the permeability of the worlds.

In 2011 he was awarded the Grand Prize of Salon de Montrouge for contemporary art and in 2012 was resident of the Villa Medici, French Academy in Rome-Villa Medici. His films have been selected and awarded for numerous international festivals (Cannes, Locarno, Telluride, Los Angeles, San Sebastian…) and won numerous awards.

His work has also been screened or presented in various museums (Palais de Tokyo Paris, Centre Georges Pompidou Paris, ICA London, Haus der Kultur der Welt, Berlin, Museum of fine arts Boston, MoMA New-York…).

In 2015, his first feature film Ni le ciel Ni la terre (Neither heaven nor earth) was selected at the Cannes international film festival – Critic’s week, awarded by the Gan Foundation, acclaimed by critics and nominated for the best first film at the César award ceremony. The same year he won the BAL Prize for contemporary art. In the year 2016, he won the Science Po Prize for contemporary art and the 18th Fondation d’entreprise Ricard Prize for contemporary art.

In 2018, Clément Cogitore was awarded the Marcel Duchamp Prize for Contemporary Arts.

To celebrate its 350th anniversary, the Opéra National de Paris has entrusted Clément Cogitore with staging the entirety of Jean-Baptiste Rameau’s opera ballet, Les Indes galantes, after a first collaboration with the 3e Scène platform. The première will take place in September 2019.

Invited by José-Manuel Gonçalvès, Clément Cogitore become associated artist of the 104 for the 2018 – 2019 season. 

The work of Clément Cogitore is in numerous public collections: Center Georges Pompidou, National Museum of Modern Art, National Fund of Contemporary Art, Contemporary Art Fund of the City of Paris, FRAC Alsace, FRAC Aquitaine, FRAC Auvergne, MAC VAL, Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art of Strasbourg, Daimler Art collection and many private collections.

Born in 1983 in Colmar, Clement Cogitore lives and works between Paris and Strasbourg.

Represented by Eva Hober Gallery (Paris) and Galerie Reinhard Hauff (Stuttgart)

www.evahober.com
www.reinhardhauff.de

Bio

Après des études à l’Ecole supérieure des arts décoratifs de Strasbourg, et au Fresnoy – Studio national des arts contemporains, Cogitore développe une pratique à mi-chemin entre art contemporain et cinéma.  Mêlant films, vidéos, installations et photographies son travail questionne les modalités de cohabitation des hommes avec leurs images. Il y est le plus souvent question de rituels, de mémoire collective, de figuration du sacré ainsi que d’une certaine idée de la perméabilité des mondes.

Clément Cogitore a été récompensé en 2011 par le Grand prix du Salon de Montrouge, puis nommé pour l’année 2012 pensionnaire de l’Académie de France à Rome-Villa Médicis. Ses films ont été sélectionnés et récompensés dans de nombreux festivals internationaux (Cannes, Locarno, Telluride, Los Angeles, San Sebastian…). Son travail a également été exposé et projeté dans de nombreux musées et centre d’arts (Palais de Tokyo, Centre Georges Pompidou – Paris, ICA Londres, Museum of fine arts – Boston, MoMA New-York…).

En 2015 son premier long-métrage « Ni le ciel, Ni la terre » a été récompensé par le Prix de la Fondation Gan, au Festival de Cannes – Semaine de la critique, salué par la critique et nominé pour le César du meilleur premier film. La même année il reçoit le Prix BAL pour la jeune création. L’année 2016, il reçoit le Prix Science Po pour l’art contemporain et le 18° Prix de la Fondation d’Entreprise Ricard pour l’art contemporain.

En 2018, le Prix Marcel Duchamp lui est décerné par l’ADIAF (Association pour la Diffusion Internationale de l’Art Français).

Pour célébrer son 350ème anniversaire, l’Opéra National de Paris a confié à Clément Cogitore la mise en scène de l’intégralité de l’opéra-ballet Les Indes galantes de Jean-Baptiste Rameau. La première représentation aura lieu en septembre 2019. 

Sur une invitation de José-Manuel Gonçalvès, Clément Cogitore devient artiste associé au 104 pour l’année 2018-2019.

Le travail de Clément Cogitore est présent dans de nombreuses collections publiques : Centre Georges Pompidou, Musée national d’art moderne, Fonds national d’art contemporain, Fonds d’art contemporain de la Ville de Paris, FRAC Alsace, FRAC Aquitaine, FRAC Auvergne, MAC VAL, Musée d’art moderne et contemporain de Strasbourg, Daimler Art collection et de nombreuses collections privées.

Né en 1983 à Colmar, Clément Cogitore vit et travaille entre Paris et Strasbourg.

Représenté par la Galerie Eva Hober (Paris) et la Galerie Reinhard Hauff (Stuttgart)

www.evahober.com
www.reinhardhauff.de